The board of directors and the leadership team of Auckland Tourism, Events and Economic Development are made up of experienced and visionary businesspeople who have a passion for growing the economy, encouraging innovation and making Auckland the world’s most liveable city.

Our board of directors

David McConnell BE, MBA
David is Managing Director of the McConnell Group, following a career in engineering management consulting. He is a Director of the Committee for Auckland and has served on the boards of Mighty River Power and TelstraClear Pacific Trust, as well as the University of Auckland Business School.
Mike Taitoko
Board member
Of Ngāti Maniapoto descent, Mike is co-founder and Managing Director of tech company Waiora Pacific, and previously founded Tuia Consulting – a professional advisory firm focusing on commercial growth and economic development of the Māori economy. He is an experienced director of a number of businesses and organisations.
Professor Stuart McCutcheon
Board member
Stuart is the Vice-Chancellor (CEO) of the University of Auckland, and has been CEO and a board (council) member since 2005. He developed his tertiary education governance roles in parallel with his teaching and research career, eventually becoming Vice-Chancellor and board member of Victoria University 2000-2004.
Helen Robinson
Board member
Helen has been a leader in the technology sector for more than 25 years. She is an experienced director and currently the Chair of The Network for Learning Ltd (N4L), a crown entity charged with improving educational outcomes by transforming schools to technology-based learning environments.
Danny Chan
Board member
The healthcare and education sectors are the areas in which Danny's current business experience lies. He also has a background in public and private sector governance. Danny is a member of the New Zealand China Council’s Advisory Board and is fluent in both Cantonese and Mandarin.
Glenys Coughlan
Board member
Glenys has extensive tourism and travel industry experience, including strategic planning with Air New Zealand, and time as Chief Executive of the Tourism Industry Association. She is chair of Outward Bound, and the Pacific Asia Travel Association’s New Zealand Trust, and has been chair of Positively Wellington Tourism, and a director of Tourism New Zealand.
Evan Davies
Board member
Evan is Managing Director of Todd Property Group Ltd, Chair of the Capital Investment Committee, and Chair of the Christchurch Hospital Redevelopment Partnership Group. He is on the Melanesian Mission Trust Board and the Anglican Trust for Women and Children. He was previously Managing Director of Sky City Entertainment Group and General Manager of Brierley Properties.
Board of Directors
Get in touch with the ATEED board of directors
Contact us


Our leadership team

Nick Hill
Chief Executive
Executive Assistant
Kushla Hodgson
Contact Nick
Martin Fairweather
Chief Operating Officer
Executive Assistant
Anna Churton
Contact Martin
Lisa Winkle
General Manager - Business Transformation
Executive Assistant
Thomas Fowler
Contact Lisa
Steve Armitage
General Manager – Destination
Executive Assistant
Sue Norton
Contact Steve
Patrick McVeigh
General Manager – Business, Innovation and Skills
Executive Assistant
Debbie Boult
Contact Patrick
Dean Butchers
General Manager – Business Attraction and Investment
Executive Assistant
Jan Herlihy
Contact Dean