Leys Orchestra Family Concert

For Leys Orchestra's return to Warkworth, the programme is headlined with the beautiful Concertante for Clarinet, Bassoon, Horn and Orchestra second movement by Crusell. This Finnish-Swedish conductor, composer and virtuoso clarinetist wrote three clarinet concertos, but is perhaps best known for his Concertante.

We are proud to perform 'Pohutukawa', a new work by well-known NZ composer David Hamilton (a former conductor of the orchestra), which we premiered at last year's Auckland Heritage Festival. This evocative work was written especially for and dedicated to Leys Orchestra.

The concert also features the languid second movement from Mozart's 'Clarinet Concerto' with soloist Terry Childs, and the 'Overture in D Minor' by German romantic composer Emilie Mayer, which is the fourth of her more than 15 concert overtures.

The programme also includes 'Idyll' and 'Danse Villageoise' from Chabrier's Suite Pastoral, 'Ricercar' by Gabrieli, and a fanfare by Monteverdi.

Warkworth Town Hall, Warkworth, Auckland
2021-06-13 15:00:00 - 2021-06-13 16:15:00
All Ages
Find out about listing on
Powered by

Leys Orchestra Family Concert

In this area